A seed of love

 

FullSizeRender (1)In this post I want to share a revelation God gave me recently about a testimony of mine. The testimony is nothing spectacular, or so I thought, but God has begun showing me just how powerful the small things really are.

A few months ago, I was on my way to a Reinhard bonnke gospel crusade. On the way to the crusade I stopped at a red light and noticed a man holding up a sign. The sign said that he was a veteran, who was out of work, needed a job, food and things along that line. I instantly felt compassion for the man and decided to give Him what I had, which was Jesus and a few dollars. I rolled down my window and motioned him to come over. when he got up to the car I handed him the cash, then proceeded to tell him how much Jesus loved him and that God thought he was amazing.

Nothing spectacular, just a guy sharing Jesus with a man, while helping him out with a few dollars. But after sharing Jesus with this man, he said something that was very cool. He said, “God is good,” then walked away. The funny thing is, a few days before this, I gave a few dollars to a guy at work and he said the same thing, then walked away. Why is this significant? Well that is the revelation to this testimony.

Lately God has been speaking to me about sowing seeds of love. A simple concept, with a powerful reality. The Bible says God is love, so by sowing a seed of love, I am introducing the person to my God, whether they realize it or not. Connecting the dots by sharing the gospel is only the icing on the cake, if you will. Not to mention praying with the person!

God has been showing me that there is a constant theme while sowing seeds of love, which is they often result in a realization of God’s goodness. This means we can provoke a response of thankfulness for God’s goodness, just by sharing His love. Even if a person does not really know the Lord, they can still see His goodness. Just like the veteran and the homeless man I talked to; both encounters ended with thankfulness, and the reality that God is good.

The goodness of God leads to repentance, and repentance leads to relationship. This is because once sin is removed, we can enter into the predestined relationship that God willed before the foundation of the world. But it all starts with a seed of God’s love. Just one act of love can result in a person seeing God for who He really is.

I want to conclude with a word that God gave me today. God said to me, “the key to sowing seeds is to love, but the key to love is knowing the one who is love.” It is the concept of living a life out of the overflow of relationship with Jesus. Meaning, the key to sowing seeds of love daily, is to continually pursue the one who is love.

He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water” John 7:38

The point in me writing this blog, was to encourage you. A lot of the time we do not get to see the fruit of our labor, meaning we may sow into hundreds of people, but only see the fruits of a few. This is okay though, because we can trust that God will take the seed and make it grow, just like 1 Corinthians 3:6 says, “I planted the seed, Apollos watered it, but God has been making it grow.” 

I do not know where that veteran man I talked to is today, but I do know at the end of the day, he has to deal with the fact that someone told Him Jesus loves him. Yes, it is a simple statement, but God uses the simple things to confound the wise.

Do not be discouraged! continue loving people and trust that God is going to use you in ways you never thought possible.

One thought on “A seed of love

Leave a Reply

