Breakthrough The Word

maritime-flare

God is our Father, and He is a very good one at that. As I journey through this relationship, I learn more and more about what a good Father looks like, because God is our example. He comforts us when we are discouraged, He guides us when we are confused, and He loves us unconditionally. But God has shown me, a good Father is also a good teacher.

But the anointing that you received from him abides in you, and you have no need that anyone         should teach you. But as his anointing teaches you about everything, and is true, and is no lie—         just as it has taught you, abide in him. -John 2:27 

I have learned that when I am seeking instruction through God’s word, He does not overload me with revelation and information. God is a good teacher, and He slowly feeds us, and shows us what we need to know.

These timely bits if revelation are words from God.  You know like, “bro! God gave me a Word on love.” To this I would say, “awesome tell me more about it.” We all love it when God reveals something new to us, it is just awesome. The problem is, in my life, I have noticed a trend. When God gives me a word, I chew on it for a bit, then move on to the next teaching, which is okay, but did I really get it?

This morning God brought me to a passage that shows a time when Jesus’ disciples received a word, but did not really understand it.

         Jesus answered them, “Destroy this temple, and I will raise it again in three days.” They          replied, “It has taken forty-six years to build this temple, and you are going to raise it in three days?” But the temple he had spoken of was his body. After he was raised from the dead, his disciples recalled what he had said. Then they believed the scripture and the words that Jesus had spoken. -John 2:19-20

What God showed me through the passage is, the disciples had the word, but they did not have the understanding. It was not until they saw the word in action, that they believed. So my thought is this, we may receive a word, but until we put it into action we will not fully understand it.

To give an example, a few months ago God said to me, “open your mouth and I will give you the words to say.” I enjoyed the thrill of this word, but I never saw breakthrough until one night God told me to go pray for someone and give them a hug. It seemed a bit weird and I was pretty nervous, but God reminded me of the word He had given me. So, I went over and prayed for the person, and just like God said, He gave me the words to say. It turned out to be a very powerful moment for me and the other person. But to fully understand and see what God was saying, I had to take action.

You may be wondering why there is a picture of some dude holding a flare at the top of the post. Well, when God was speaking to me about the disciples not understanding the word He gave them, He showed me an image. It was a guy holding a flare. I decided to search through google to see if I could find something similar, and finally I came across this picture. When I saw it, God said, “the flare is the word, the flame is the breakthrough.” In order to produce a flame you have to take action.

So, hear is the point I am trying to make. We all love a word from the Lord, but the word itself is only half of the revelation. The other half is to push for breakthrough, so that you do not just know the word, but you become it.

If God is speaking to you about prophecy, push for breakthrough in prophecy. If God is speaking to you about healing, push for breakthrough in healing. If God is speaking to you about patience, push for breakthrough in patience. If God is speaking to you about love, push for breakthrough in love. Do not just sit on the word, act on it!

If you are not pushing for breakthrough in some aspect of your life, are you really growing?

Leave a Reply

