The Simplicity of Knowing Him

It’s my favorite topic! Relationship with Jesus. I love talking about it, because I spent 17 years of my life in a Christian home, not knowing what it really meant to be in relationship with God. I went to church on Sunday morning and Wednesday night; I even sat through the Bible studies at hoimg_1254me, but none of it was personal. To me, the Bible was just a crutch to help me get through life, a bunch of good moral principals. But all of this changed when I hit rock bottom, gave my life fully to God, and encountered Him three nights in a row at a youth camp. When I fully surrendered my life to God, my world was flipped upside down, and my only desire was to know Him. So, I picked up my Bible that had sat on my bedside table for years and started reading.

It has been two years since that youth camp, and I haven’t stopped reading since. I spend almost all of my free time on my knees asking God to teach me who He is. And that is it. Knowing God is that simple. I hear people talk about how you have to read the Bible a certain way to understand it, or follow a particular Bible plan. But honestly I have never touched any of those things, and I’m feeling pretty good about it. I am not saying it is bad to use resources to help you understand God’s word, but what I am saying is that it is not necessary. 1 John 2:27 says we do not need anyone to teach us, because the Holy Spirit is our teacher, and 1 timothy 3:16 says that all scripture is God breathed. What does all this mean? It means the author of the book itself lives inside of you and wants to sit with you and teach you.

When I first started reading my Bible I didn’t know what these scriptures meant or that they even existed, but I knew in my heart that God could help me understand His word. I had faith and an expectation and God exceeded it tenfold.

I want this post to be short and encouraging, but I want to end by challenging your thoughts and your mindset. Instead of approaching the Bible as good principals or a crutch to get through life, approach it as the power of God. Get on your knees and ask the author, Holy Spirit, to teach you and show you who God really is. Hebrews 4:12 says that God’s word is like a sword, that penetrates to dividing soul and spirit, and that it judges the deepest parts of us. Ask God to penetrate your hear with His word, and transform you from the inside out.

Approaching God’s word this way, transformed my life completely, and I know it will transform yours as well!

 

 

Leave a Reply

